Hawke's Bay Winegrowers Inc is the official regional wine industry organisation representing all wineries and growers. Formed in 2006, early growers and winemakers organisations amalgamated to form one industry body. Our aim is to build the Hawke's Bay fine wine category in achieving international recognition as a sustainable and profitable world class wine producing region. We have over 70 winery members and over 145 grower members

About Hawkes Bay Wine Growers

Regional Promotion and Marketing

Raising the profile of Hawke's Bay Wine is an important part of our strategic plan and is critical to the long-term future in an increasingly competitive marketplace. Promotional activities take place regionally, nationally and internationally .

Regional marketing has been developed around a red wine promotion platform. This enables us to tell the story of Hawke's Bay terrôir, and so, other varieties and sub-regions in turn. Members are able to access all regional promotional material to ensure a consistent and cohesive story is told.


Working with NZ Winegrowers and local and central government, Hawke's Bay Winegrowers represents the interests of the regional industry.


The Hawke's Bay Focus Research Group investigates and contracts research relating specifically to Hawke's Bay industry issues in order to maintain and increase quality.

Findings and reports from previous research can be accessed via the Members Section of this website and are free.


Hawke's Bay Winegrowers are part of the liaison and workings groups within the Eastern Institute of Technology (EIT) Wine and Viticulture programmes. See www.eit.ac.nz

Membership Information


Automatic Membership: All wineries and grape growers paying a levy to NZ Winegrowers are automatically members of Hawke's Bay Winegrowers Inc at no charge.

If you are a new winery or grower or just want more information please contact us at This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. or phone 06 876 3418.

Directors and Staff

Hawke's Bay Winegrowers Association Inc is governed by a Board of eight Directors and managed by the Executive Officer.


The Directors are elected by ballot by members of both grape growers and winemakers voting groups. The current directors of Hawke's Bay Winegrowers Association Incorporated are:

  • Michael Henley, Aotearoa NZ Fine Wine Estates (Chair)
  • Xan Harding, Grapeology Ltd (Deputy Chair)
  • Timothy (Tiki) Marra – Bivvy Vineyard
  • Ian Quinn, Two Terraces Vineyard
  • Peter Hurlstone, Church Road
  • Neal Cave, 419 Estate Vineyards
  • Sally Duncan, Te Mata Estate
  • Emma Lowe – Monowai Estate Ltd


  • Executive Director - Liz Read
  • Administrator - Adele Fitzgerald
  • Marketing and Communications - Vicky Roebuck

Join our mailing list

* indicates required

Hawke's Bay Winegrowers Association Inc.

Email: This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.
Phone: +64 (6) 876 3418


Paritua Vineyards
2112 Maraekakaho Road

Postal address:

PO Box 1174
Hastings 4156
Hawke's Bay